The Olive Branch Shower Gel

14457547_1235022123209361_5809091466191752246_n

If I was only allowed to use one Lush shower product from the permanent range for the rest of my life, I would pick The Olive Branch without hesitation. And yet, I overlooked it for so long – and only bought my first bottle this autumn. I wish I’d tried it sooner.

In my defense, with such pretty and exciting shower products as Beautiful and The Comforter on the shelves, Olive Branch is easy to overlook. But don’t be fooled by its unassuming appearance or (comparatively) modest price tag – my goodness, it’s good. At $16.90 per 250g, The Olive Branch is right down the bottom of the Lush shower gel price range; a more “luxury” product such as Beautiful shower gel goes for $23.50 per 250g. To me, though, using The Olive Branch is never anything short of luxurious.

Let me try to explain to you why I love this shower gel so much. For starters, the smell is indescribably lovely. It’s cosy, it’s citrusy, it’s refreshing all in one. The scent is not too feminine or too masculine, so people of all genders will love it. It’s also the kind of smell that transcends seasons, and would be just as great on a chilly winter morning as it would on a humid summer afternoon. For this reason alone, The Olive Branch is one of my shower staples – every time I run out, I always repurchase it. If you can, picture a blend of vine leaf infusion, olive oil, mandarin juice and bergamot oil – The Olive Branch is packed full of these ingredients, which not only smell amazing but are great for the skin as well.

Not only does it smell amazing, The Olive Branch is also wonderful for your skin. You’ll feel soft the second you start to use it, and the softness will stay long after you’ve finished showering. Because it’s full of olive oil, it softens and nourishes your skin – I never need to moisturise after using it. I have soft, plump skin all day long. You can use it as a shampoo, too – and it’s very conditioning, so it’s kind of an all-in-one shower product, great for if you’re in a hurry and haven’t got time to piss around with shampoo and conditioner.

One of the first things you’ll notice when you use The Olive Branch is that it’s less of a gel and much more liquidy. Don’t be alarmed! It’s supposed to be like that! The idea is that you shake it up before use, to mix in all the olive oil that tends to separate from the rest of the ingredients, then squirt a little bit into the palm of your hand and rub all over. You might think, because it’s so liquidy, that you’ll need more of it than you would any other shower gel. But when it comes to The Olive Branch, less is more. You really only need a little bit, and you’ll find it foams up easily and beautifully as you wash yourself. Because of this, a bottle will last ages, making it great value for money. You’ll also find that the scent is strong and long-lasting on your skin, despite the small amount you used.

I really cannot fault The Olive Branch. I was not expecting to love it anywhere near as much as I did when I first got it, but that’s the thing with Lush products – they often surprise you (usually for the better). Next time you go into Lush, don’t overlook The Olive Branch. Give it a smell, maybe even take one home with you! And if you’ve never had a Lush shower gel before, I will always recommend you start with this one. Because it’s perfection in a bottle. So many of my favourite Lush products have been discontinued recently (or are about to be discontinued)… I sincerely hope The Olive Branch will not be one of them, because I don’t know if I can go back to showering without it.

One thought on “The Olive Branch Shower Gel

  1. Pingback: Autumn Showers (Lush) – Beth Reviews

Leave a Reply

