Layer Cake Soap

product_oxfordst_soap_layer_cake-1

Photo: lushnz.com.

I’m going to try to keep this short and sweet: for a Lush soap, Layer Cake is solidly average.

I mean, it’s still more enjoyable to use, and nicer-smelling, than an el cheapo supermarket soap. But I don’t think it’s worth the extravagant price point of $8.40 per 100g, not even at a stretch.

To be honest, I feel a bit sad sitting here and slagging off about Layer Cake (it almost hurts), for a couple of reasons:

  1. I always feel sad when I say bad things about Lush products, because you know that as a whole I think Lush is a wonderful thing.
  2. My piece of Layer Cake soap was a midwinter Christmas gift from someone who is very dear to me, so it had all the makings of an excellent time. I wanted to love it. I really did. I tried so hard. But unfortunately, it missed the mark for me. And that’s not the fault of the person who gave it to me! It’s Lush’s fault for making a product that’s trying to punch above its weight.

On the Lush website, Layer Cake is described as “the sweetest, juiciest rainbow you’ll ever feel, this multicoloured soap contains five real fruit juices” – grape, raspberry, pineapple, blueberry and orange. If you’ve seen one of the giant pieces in store, you’ll know that the five layers of this soap reflect the different juices, and aesthetically it is a very beautiful soap. But that may be the best thing about it.

The piece I ended up with (it came in a gift box, so it wasn’t the fault of anyone in the store) was completely red. Kinda sad, since I’d been so enamoured by the pretty rainbow of soap I’d seen in store. I assume the red is the raspberry one, but a citrus smell dominates whenever I use it. I don’t really feel like I’m washing in a sweet, juicy rainbow at all.

For a Lush product, Layer Cake’s scent isn’t very strong. I’ve come to expect that Lush products will leave their scents on my skin for hours, but this one barely lasts until I’ve towelled myself dry. The lather it produces also leaves a lot to be desired: you have to work quite hard to get any sort of foam going. (Quite honestly, I’ve used supermarket soaps that make more satisfying lathers.) It’s nowhere near as floofy as the picture on the website would have you think. For a soap which is sold at $8.40 per 100g – which is eighty four dollars a kilogram, by the way – I expected a lot more.

I just want to end this review by saying: don’t get me wrong, I don’t think that this is a terrible product. In fact, I do like my piece of Layer Cake and I’m going to enjoy using the rest of it. It’s just not a product I’ll desperately miss once I’ve used it all up, and I feel like it’s worth about half as much as Lush are selling it for.

Leave a Reply

