Hungover Brunch

IMG_3434

A little while ago, I had the most amazing brunch at Poneke: smoked bacon hock, house baked beans and a poached egg on sourdough toast. If you know me well, you’ll know I’m not a huge fan of bacon. However, I’m glad I made an exception for this bacon hock (which did not taste anything like nasty fried bacon strips) because it was incredible. This was easily one of the best brunches I’ve ever had, and I highly recommend Poneke for anyone looking for a nice place to grab breakfast or lunch on the Wellington waterfront.

This brunch was essentially a fancy-ass (read: quality) version of the baked beans and eggs on toast that I love to make for myself on Sunday mornings. I’m not always hungover, but I like to call it my hungover brunch because it’s the perfect thing to make on the morning after a big night out. Especially if you’re a student like me. It’s quick, cheap and easy, and it’s also loaded with the protein and carbs you’re gonna be craving if you went out and got hashtag rekt the night before.

So I thought I’d share with you how I make this brunch for myself, because I feel like I’ve perfected the art and even though it’s not exactly the healthiest thing in the universe, it’s very cost-effective and it tastes pretty fucking great.

BAKED BEANS AND EGGS À LA BETH

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 packet English muffins ($3)
  • 1 can Wattie’s baked beans in tomato sauce ($2)
  • 1 carton of half a dozen free range eggs ($4.69)

Total cost: $9.69 – you can get half a dozen cage eggs for less than three dollars, but I prefer to pay the extra for free range eggs, for ethical reasons.

METHOD

  • Cut one English muffin in half and toast it. Once toasted, arrange on a plate.
  • Spoon half the can of baked beans into a bowl. The other half can be kept int he fridge for tomorrow’s breakfast (or today’s lunch or dinner, no judgement). Heat the baked beans in the microwave for one minute or until nice and hot.
  • Poach two eggs. This can be done over the stove or in the microwave. (For microwave poached eggs, crack them into a bowl of freshly boiled water and microwave for bursts of 20-30 seconds, checking them regularly, until they’re cooked.) Alternatively you can fry the eggs in the pan, which I also like – it’s very easy and takes like two minutes to do.
  • Spoon your hot beans on top of the muffin halves. When your eggs are ready, place them on top of the baked beans.
  • Add salt and pepper to taste.
  • If you want, you could also add a slice of ham or a rasher of bacon if you want to be extra fancy.
IMG_3431

One of my egg yolks kinda ran away from the white while it was cooking. Still tasted just as good, though.

I love “cooking” this breakfast for myself because it’s so quick and easy, but I can still say I had a brunch that day – and I didn’t have to go out to a cafe and spend $17 on the fancy version! That said, the fancy version will always be like a million times more beautiful, but that’s okay. This breakfast is also super cost-effective, especially when you consider you’ve got half a tin of baked beans, four eggs, and five (!!!) muffins splits leftover for more breakfasts over the next few days. Or to enjoy however you want to basically. Don’t let me tell you how to live your life.

I have a few other meals (“meals”) in my repertoire which fall into the category of cheap, quick and easy cooking. For example, I’ve gotten pretty good at making nachos and teriyaki chicken stir fry on a budget. I’ve been thinking I’d like to share more of these recipes on here, so let me know if you want me to post them. What’s your favourite easy-ass/broke-ass meal to make?

IMG_3440

Leave a Reply

