Goodbye 2015!

IMG_3008

I can’t believe that this is the last blog post of the year! I said in January that 2015 would fly by, but I underestimated just how bloody quickly that time would go. It’s amazing to look back on the year I’ve had (most of which has been well documented here on Iron Beth) and see how much I’ve grown and changed as a person since December 2014.

Twenty fifteen has been a year of surprises, and of surprising myself. This time last year, I never would have thought that I’d have been able to go to Melbourne at the last goddamn minute – I never imagined I’d be travelling overseas full stop! In 2014, that would have been completely out of the question due to anxiety. I also never thought I’d be able to talk openly to strangers, both online and in person, about my mental illness – I’ve done that too. I also never imagined I’d organise a spur-of-the-moment trip to Christchurch just because I wanted to go there. It’s been a pretty great year, on the whole. I’ve become much more independent as a human being, which is great, and I’ve also reevaluated my values in some pretty key ways.

2015 was a year of learning and growing, so I figure it’s only right I share some of the things I’ve learned this year.

Here are fifteen things I learned in 2015:

  1. It’s possible to organize a trip overseas, and then go on that trip, in less than a week.
  2. Never pass up an opportunity to visit Melbourne. It’s a bloody amazing city and you won’t regret going. In fact, it might even be a bit of a life-changing experience.
  3. It’s okay to have unproductive days. It’s okay to forgive yourself for having unproductive days.
  4. If you’ve got the time and the means, don’t hesitate when the opportunity comes for spontaneous weekends away to places you’ve never been before.
  5. Sometimes it’s worth sacrificing your high standards of work in orders to put your health first. This is an important part of self-care.
  6. How to create beautiful, relaxing baths.
  7. How to make a mean Thai green curry.
  8. How to drive a van (it’s not that different from driving a car).
  9. To be more open about issues of gender diversity (my thinking was previously clouded by overexposure to Tumblrinas and inane “gender identities” such as spacegender, unicorngender, specialsnowflakecookiesandcreamgender).
  10. It’s okay to relapse. Relapsing doesn’t mean failure, or that you have to start your recovery all over. It’s just a bump in the road, which is only natural.
  11. You’re never too old to embrace the Christmas spirit.
  12. You can say “this is the shittiest assignment I’ve ever written” (and truly believe it) and then get an A for it.
  13. If you want to make lame videos on the Internet, then you should do that thing.
  14. Opening up about your mental illness can bring all sorts of amazing friendships and experiences into your life.
  15. How to rely on myself, rather than leaning on others in my life.

 

Goodbye 2015, and thank you for being one of the best years of my life so far. Thank you to everyone who’s been reading along on my journey, and to everyone who’s shown their support for this blog. I’ll leave you with some photos from Christmas, because it’s still December and why not?

IMG_3013.JPG

Strawberries on Christmas Day are an obvious must.

IMG_2977

IMG_2989

Making Christmas mince pies with Mum on Christmas Eve.

IMG_3020IMG_3029

IMG_3036

I can’t imagine not having Christmas in the summertime.

IMG_3042

IMG_3045

This is the huge soft toy giraffe my brother got me. She doesn’t have a name yet, so I’m open to suggestions. She was one of my favourite presents.

IMG_3052

IMG_3055

If you can’t have a cheeky glass of bubbles on Christmas Day, when can you?

IMG_3072

IMG_3073

After a long day of festivities, Comet was warm out and needed a nap.

IMG_2983

This is one of Comet’s stockings. She has two. Yep, my cat is such a princess that she has more stockings than me.

IMG_2947IMG_2945

Leave a Reply

