LUSHMAS!

The Experimenter in action.

The Experimenter in action.

It’s no secret that I’m obsessed with Lush – you all know this by now. I have so many of their products that I use regularly, and every time I go back to Hawke’s Bay I stock up on bath products like we’re on the cusp of a Lush apocalypse. (That said, a Lushpocalypse actually sounds amazing.) And one of the most exciting times of the year for any Lushie is now, when all of the limited edition Christmas and Halloween products come out.

IMG_2661 IMG_2658

I haven’t tried all of the LUSHMAS 2K15 products,  but I have got my hands on a few of them, and I thought I’d review the ones I have tried for any fellow Lushies who maybe want to know what’s good. Besides, this is kind of related to mental health, right? Or self-care, at least. I know that having a Lush bath is one of the most relaxing things I can do when I’m feeling stressed or anxious. The bath is my happy place, and it calms me down like nothing else I’ve tried so far.

The first Lush Christmas product that I absolutely had to pick up was Rose Jam shower gel. This came out last year for Christmas, and it was the first Lush product I ever bought. To date, it remains my favourite Lush product ever, and I’m so glad they brought it back this year because I needed to restock. Anyone who likes the smell of roses will love Rose Jam. I find a lot of rose-scented bath and shower (and skincare, etc) products can be almost sickly, which is hugely offputting. But the Rose Jam scent is perfect: not too sweet and not too strong. It’s this gorgeous dark pink colour and feels amazing to use. Ugh, I’m in love.

Even though it was a bit messy to apply, I loved the Santa Baby lip tint I picked up last year, and I had to get Santa’s Lip Scrub this year to match it. I love this lip scrub. I’ve used it so much already, I’m wondering if I might need to pick up another before they all get snapped up. It smells like coca cola, does a really good job of exfoliating my lips, and it’s totally edible so I get to lick it off once I’m finished.

In keeping with the ultra-festive theme, I also picked up a Santa’s Belly shower jelly. Let’s be real, the name is pretty offputting – I’m not in love with the thought of swooshing some old fat guy’s tummy around in the shower to get clean. But if you’re able to look past that graphic mental image, the shower jelly itself is something I’m a fan of. I’ve bought a lot of shower jellies for other people as gifts, but this is the first one I’ve bought for myself and I love it. It’s a beautiful festive red, with lots of little gold stars inside, and it smells like fresh apples – which is super refreshing, and makes this the perfect shower product for those of us in the southern hemisphere who experience Christmas during the heat of summer.

In all my Lush shopping, I ended up with a couple of free samples of Celebrate body lotion. This smells so fruity and festive, the scent is delightful! I also found it works a treat on dry, overworked hands – it really put a lot of moisture back into my skin. I love using it as a hand cream. However, I do find it’s a bit oily (or greasy maybe?) and that takes longer than I’d like to soak in. I also can’t justify spending $38 on a full pot when I hardly ever remember to use it. But if body lotions are your thing, and you like the thought of smelling like Christmas punch, you’ll bloody love this.

Let’s move on now to the main event: bath products! Lush always brings out an exciting array of festive-themed bath products for Christmas time. The first one I tried was Star Dust bath bomb, a cute little star-shaped ballistic. I was quite nervous getting it home because it felt quite crumbly in the shop, but thankfully it made it home in one piece. It has a delicate vanilla scent which I really liked, and I paired it with a bit of The Comforter bubble bar (which isn’t limited edition), and the combination gave me pastel purple shimmery bath water. It was really quite beautiful. I must say, I wasn’t head-over-heels in love with Star Dust, but I enjoyed it all the same.

12243199_1019498978095011_2431651597320105735_n12243199_1019498978095011_2431651597320105735_n

The Father Christmas bath bomb was an unexpected favourite. I’m not sure why I picked it up, to be honest – it looks quite plain, just a ball with a *vaguely creepy* Santa face on it – but I’m very glad I did. Because it looks so plain, I wasn’t expecting much, so I was quite surprised when this incredible green came fizzing out of the middle! It was so pretty! I enjoyed a wonderful emerald green bath that left my skin feeling super soft and silky afterwards. This bath bomb also has the Snow Fairy scent, which is like the classic Christmas scent from Lush. A very good one for summer. I’ll definitely be buying another one if I get the chance.

12239896_1019498778095031_8027095932695812148_n12239896_1019498778095031_8027095932695812148_n

The first out-and-out disappointment for the season was the Luxury Lush Pud bath bomb. I was very excited for this one, too, the reason being that Twilight is my absolute favourite year-round bath bomb and I’d heard that Luxury Lush Pud was like Twilight on crack. Which sounded amazing in theory. But in practise, crack is bad for you, kids. I’ll be fair, it put on a brilliant show, with different colours fizzing out from all sides. It also has the same lavender scent as Twilight, which I loved. At the end, though, I was left with BRIGHT PINK bath water, which may be a dream come true for many people and I respect that, but it wasn’t for me. It also left a bright pink tidemark round the bath when I let the water out, which was super annoying and not something I’d gotten from a Lush product before. I probably won’t be repurchasing this one. It does look so pretty, though. And it is a very popular one, so don’t take my word for it – you may love it. Everyone has different tastes.

12241362_1019498758095033_2023921361994622372_n12241362_1019498758095033_2023921361994622372_n

The only Christmas-themed bubble bar I picked up was Peeping Santa. I love bubble bars maybe more than bath bombs, but for some reason I wasn’t feeling most of the Christmas range. This one, though – look how cute it is! How could I not? Peeping Santa has a very, what’s a good word for this, different scent. It’s very strong, and lasts on your skin for a long time. I didn’t completely love the way it smelled, but it wasn’t bad. What I did love, though, was how many bubbles it made. SO MANY BUBBLES. JUST MOUNTAINS OF BUBBLES. I actually broke it in half and got two super bubbly baths out of it. You could probably get at least four if you wanted your baths to be less bubbly. And when I got in, the water felt amazing and I spent entirely too long in there, just appreciating how silky and nourishing it was. Not an instant favourite overall, but definitely still makes for an excellent bath.

12241598_1019498741428368_6709531067516843519_n 12208702_1019498714761704_2451158747125736538_n

Intergalactic bath bomb may well be my new favourite bath bomb ever ever ever. It’s usually an Oxford Street exclusive (although maybe it’s available in all UK stores now? not sure), but at the moment you can get it in a couple of the Christmas gift boxes, which are in all stores and also online. I got it in The Night Before Christmas gift; it’s also in the Firecracker gift. And this bath bomb is honestly incredible. For starters, it looks beautiful even before you put it in the bath. And when you do, it puts on a real show. It has a distinct minty scent, which is actually very very lovely – especially for a morning bath, which is when I used mine. Because of its refreshing but comforting smell, and its beautiful colour display, I feel like Intergalactic is a bath bomb I could happily use all year round, whereas a lot of other Lush bath products definitely best complement a particular type of year/weather. It turned the water an amazing shade of midnight blue and was full of lustre (glitter), so my bath water really was transformed into a night sky full of galaxies. So bloody stunning. I spent an hour in this bath, and would have probably stayed in there forever if possible. If you get nothing else from Lushmas this year, please get a Night Before Christmas so you can experience this stunning ballistic.

12004676_1019498674761708_2111448260187658789_n12004676_1019498674761708_2111448260187658789_n

Shoot For The Stars is another definite favourite from this year’s collection. It was another showy one, but unlike Intergalactic, it didn’t fizz out colours or motor around in the water. It was more of a slow burner, and initially just frothed out colour, in a way that reminded me of the milky froth you get on top of your coffee. It ended up creating beautiful swirling patterns on the surface of the water, while transforming the water itself into a rich blue-green colour that reminded me of the sea. Shoot For The Stars has the same honey-toffee smell as the Honey Bee bath bomb and Honey I Washed the Kids soap, which is a scent I’m a big fan of. This ballistic gave me another luxurious hour-long bath, and it’s another I’d happily repurchase. I will say though that it was very glittery, and my skin was covered in silver lustre for the rest of the night. I really liked it, to me it looked like there were constellations all over my skin. But if you don’t love glitter, I’d recommend not giving this one a try.

12239749_1019498651428377_8653183907780158905_n12239749_1019498651428377_8653183907780158905_n

A Southerly was blowing the night I used my Cinders, and the cold/wet/grey/generally miserable atmosphere made this bath bomb the perfect choice. It’s a tiny wee thing (90g, as opposed to most Lush bath bombs which are 170g), but it’s also very dense, and did not disappoint. First of all, let it be said that Cinders is absolutely the perfect Christmas bath bomb. It smells exactly like the marzipan on Christmas cakes: quite a polarising scent, but if you love it, you’ll love Cinders. It’s also very different to most of the Lush ballistics I’ve had so far. It sank straight to the bottom of the bath, and apart from releasing a stream of golden colour into the water it didn’t do much. There was no big display, no swirling colours, no bubbles and no glitter – which I actually really liked. It created a very simple, gentle bath with very clear water. All-in-all I was very impressed with this; a very lovely lil product, amazing on a cold grey day.

12249772_1019498631428379_4902764763927315564_n12249772_1019498631428379_4902764763927315564_n

I was expecting to love Yog Nog, and was surprised when I did not. Despite having never actually used the Yog Nog soap, every time I’m in Lush I always have a cheeky sniff because it smells so incredible – like toffee and cookies and baking and just general decadence. I did not pick up any hint of this incredible scent in the bath bomb, however. Mum said it smelled like curry to her; to me, it smelled more like cheap powdered cordial – not the kind of smell I would expect from a Lush product. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad bath bomb – I did quite enjoy it, despite its disappointingly not-cookies scent. It just wasn’t a favourite. As far as Lush bath products go, I found it pretty unextraordinary and won’t be desperately repurchasing before they go out of stock.

11226179_1019498604761715_3043047996632608176_n12227662_1019500241428218_5366258722177662784_n

I ended my bathing medley on a high note with Lord of Misrule, aka the bath bomb to end all bath bombs. I’d had this bath bomb before, when they brought it out for the Midwinter Christmas, so I knew it was going to be amazing. Its scent is a unique and incredible mix of black pepper and patchouli oils – very warming, comforting and relaxing. It also puts on an incredible display in the bath, the deep green outside foaming out to make way for fizzing pink swirls. The end result is bath water so dark blue it’s almost black, with hints of sparkle from silver glitter. It’s absolutely divine and I was instantly obsessed the first time I tried it. The second time round it was just as impressive. Unfortunately I think the bath bomb is no longer available since it’s after Halloween, but you can still pick up the shower cream version. I will say that I don’t know how I’d feel jumping into a spicy LOM bath in the heat of summer (i.e. December), but every other time of the year I can see it being perfect. I do know that every time Lush bring out this beautiful bath bomb I’ll be there to buy one.

My favourite LUSHMAS products for this year (so far…):

  • Rose Jam shower gel
  • Santa’s Lip Scrub
  • Santa’s Belly Shower Jelly
  • Father Christmas bath bomb
  • INTERGALACTIC BATH BOMB!!!!!!
  • Cinders bath bomb
  • Lord of Misrule bath bomb
Leave a Reply

