Something Different

Hi everyone.

This week I didn’t have time to sit down and write a good-quality post for you guys, but I didn’t want to leave you with nothing, so I sat down in front of a camera for fifteen minutes and had a wee yarn about living with a mental illness. I hope you guys enjoy this – let me know if it’s something you think I should do more of, or if it was incredibly awkward to watch and you think I should just stick to typing up words in the future.

Sorry the editing isn’t super great on this. Some of the transitions got a little bit fucked in the export and I’m not sure why and didn’t have time to fix it (excuses, excuses), so unfortunately you’ll have to deal with it as is.

The questions I answered, if you didn’t catch them, were (in this order):

1. What does mental illness mean to you?
2. How did you get through the hardest time?
3. What do you want people to know about mental illnesses (anxiety)?

I hope you enjoyed this post, and that you’ve had a great weekend.

One thought on “Something Different

  1. 1. For me, acknowledging that I have a mental illness was really hard at first, but now it’s actually really helpful. When I’m going through a rough patch, I am much kinder to myself, because I can step back and say “my anxiety is causing me to have these feelings” rather than just telling myself I’m a failure or that I need to suck it up and get over it.

    2. I got through my hardest time with the help of my amazing husband, and with the support of friends and colleagues. When I actually talked to people, they were so understanding and wanted to support me in any way they could (rather than rejecting me like I thought they would.)
    I also got through my lowest point by choosing to make some big life changes so I could be in a more positive space for recovery (which included quitting my job and heading back to uni).

    3. I actually want other people with mental illness to know that it’s way more common than they think, and if they choose to talk about it, there are so many people out there who will support them. Obviously there is still a lot of stigma out there, but I tend to surround myself with highly creative people, and have learned that creativity is very often paired with anxiety, self-doubt and depression. When I finally chose to be open and honest with people, I realised that a lot of the people around me had struggled or were still struggling with the same kinds of issues. In the past I had spent so much time and energy hiding my symptoms and suppressing my feelings. Now I’m pretty open with people, and have been pleasantly surprised with how accepting most people are.

    Good on ya Beth – keep it up (wow – I still sound like a teacher don’t I?!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

